Call for Submissions

21 lit mags/journals to send your current event poems

The listings below are literary magazines/journals that are known for taking poetry on current event topics.

These literary magazines/journals are listed alphabetically; some are currently accepting submissions, some are temporarily closed. I’ve also included whether or not it is a paying market in the notes column. These lit mags/journals also fit the following criteria:

  • Generally do not charge fees to submit (although some may charge fees for some types of submissions and for contests).
  • They accept poetry submissions.
  • All accept electronic submissions.

If you have suggestions for lit mags/journals I’ve missed, please contact me here or leave a comment below.

Lit Mag/Journal Web Site Notes Duotrope
Poetry24 http://www.poetry24.co.uk/ https://duotrope.com/listing/5563
Anti-Heroin Chic http://heroinchic.weebly.com No sim subs https://duotrope.com/listing/20078
Consequence Magazine http://www.consequencemagazine.org Themed, paying https://duotrope.com/listing/3459
Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org n/a
Glass: Poets Resist http://www.glass-poetry.com/journal/poets-resist.html https://duotrope.com/listing/2490
HEArt Online http://www.heartjournalonline.com/ https://duotrope.com/listing/11826
I Am Not a Silent Poet https://iamnotasilentpoet.wordpress.com n/a
Love’s Executive Order – https://www.lovesexecutiveorder.com Themed n/a
Mobius: The Journal of Social Change http://mobiusmagazine.com Themed https://duotrope.com/listing/3496
New Verse News http://newversenews.blogspot.com No sim subs https://duotrope.com/listing/1437
Poets Reading the News http://www.poetsreadingthenews.com https://duotrope.com/listing/22651
Poets’ Republic https://poetsrepublic.org n/a
Poetry of the Resistance https://poetryoftheresistance.wordpress.com n/a
Quarterday Review Poets Respond https://quarterdayreview.com/ First responders submissions https://duotrope.com/listing/17500
Rattle’s Poets Respond http://www.rattle.com/respond/ https://duotrope.com/listing/14628
Rat’s Ass Review http://ratsassreview.net https://duotrope.com/listing/3621
Rise Up Review http://riseupreview.com https://duotrope.com/listing/21657
Social Justice Poetry http://www.socialjusticepoetry.com Publishes within a week, doesn’t send a response https://duotrope.com/listing/21811
The Good Men Project https://goodmenproject.com https://duotrope.com/listing/5410
Tuck Magazine http://tuckmagazine.com/ https://duotrope.com/listing/6381
Writers Resist http://writersresist.com/ Pays sometimes https://duotrope.com/listing/21706

If you like this post, please share with your writerly friends and/or follow my blog or like my Facebook page. You can see all the FREE resources my blog offers poets/writers on my Blog Tour page. 

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s