Call for Submissions

16 lit mags/journals to send your current event poems

The listings below are literary magazines/journals that are known for taking poetry on current event topics.

These literary magazines/journals are listed alphabetically; some are currently accepting submissions, some are temporarily closed. I’ve also included whether or not it is a paying market in the notes column. These lit mags/journals also fit the following criteria:

  • Generally do not charge fees to submit (although some may charge fees for some types of submissions and for contests).
  • They accept poetry submissions.
  • All accept electronic submissions.
Lit Mag/Journal Web Site Notes Duotrope
Anti-Heroin Chic http://heroinchic.weebly.com No sim subs https://duotrope.com/listing/20078
Consequence Magazine http://www.consequencemagazine.org Themed, paying https://duotrope.com/listing/3459
Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org   n/a
Glass: Poets Resist http://www.glass-poetry.com/journal/poets-resist.html   https://duotrope.com/listing/2490
Golden Walkman https://www.goldwalkmag.com/ Deadline 10th and 15th monthly https://duotrope.com/listing/14501
Headline Poetry Press https://headlinepoetryandpress.com   https://duotrope.com/listing/27844/headline-poetry-and-press-website
Love’s Executive Order – https://www.lovesexecutiveorder.com Themed n/a
Misfit Quill https://5e6eab5bab330.site123.me/ Always open  
Mineral Lit Magazine https://www.minerallitmag.com/   https://duotrope.com/listing/29268/mineral-lit-magazine
Mobius: The Journal of Social Change http://mobiusmagazine.com Themed https://duotrope.com/listing/3496
New Verse News http://newversenews.blogspot.com No sim subs https://duotrope.com/listing/1437
Poets Reading the News http://www.poetsreadingthenews.com   https://duotrope.com/listing/22651
Rat’s Ass Review http://ratsassreview.net   https://duotrope.com/listing/3621
Rise Up Review http://riseupreview.com   https://duotrope.com/listing/21657
The Good Men Project https://goodmenproject.com   https://duotrope.com/listing/5410
Writers Resist http://www.writersresist.com/   https://duotrope.com/listing/21706/writers-resist

If you like this post, please share with your writerly friends and/or follow my blog or like my Facebook page. You can see all the FREE resources my blog offers poets/writers on my Blog Tour page. 

6 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s